Saturday, August 25, 2012

Dustsucker - Diabolo Domination (Limb Music GmbH, 2008)

Genre: Heavy Metal
Year: 2008
Country: Germany

1. Lost and Forgotten 03:50
2. Dig Your Own Grave 03:15
3. Live in Sin 03:10
4. Land of the King 03:45
5. Long Gone 03:40
6. Ignite to Burn 03:29
7. Right Time 02:49
8. Loaded and Ready 03:43
9. Kill On the First Date 03:21
10. Can't Escape the Fire 03:57
11. Learn to Crawl 03:30
12. Let the Good Times Roll 05:02

The Germans of Dustsucker have been working hard to get recognition for over more then 15 years. After 4 CDs was they still failed to advance beyond the status of an underground band.
Hopefully this fifth record will change things for them. Dustsucker have everything to make it with the general public, they are playing a heavy mix between
Motörhead and The Hellacopters. These gentlemens still play for the love of music and it shows becasue the joy of playing just oozes out of the music.
You won't find a lot of variety on this album but the record is not boring at all, it just keeps on deliciously rocking.
Just turn of your brain and listen to this with a refreshment during the summer, it's ideal for situations like that.
Diabolo Domination swings, rocks and is fun from the start to the end and it's a recommendation for every Möterhead, Rose Tattoo or The Hellacopters fanatic.
And if I also tell you that metallegand Jeff Waters joins in to play a solo on "Land of the King" what are you waiting for to buy this?

Where to buy?:
(Originally written in 2009)

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Duff McKagan's Loaded - Sick (Century Media Records,2009)

Genre: Hard Rock
Year: 2009
Country: USA
1. Sick (2:51)
2. Sleaze Factory (3:47)
3. Flatline (3:02)
4. IOU (3:36)
5. The Slide (3:10)
6. Translucent (3:08)
7. Mothers Day (3:50)
8. I See Through You ( 3:57)
9. Forgive Me (4:12)
10.No Shame (3:32)
11.Blind Date Girl (5:10)
12.Wasted Heart ( 4:57)
13. No More (4:33)

Now that Velvet Revolver is momentarily paused, Duff Mckagan takes the opportunity to bring out another record with his young dogs of Loaded.
Duff McKagan was a not inconsiderable influence on the sound of the old Guns N 'Roses. His bass always had a good punk rock vibe to it. Knowing that it should come as no surprise that mister Mckagan and his hobbyband play a mix between older Guns N 'Roses work, punk rock, blues and modern rock. On Sick, Duff also takes up the mic again besides his guitar and it must be mentioned that his warm voice managed to amaze me. He dus not have a unique voice like Axel Rose and his vocal range is far from perfect, but as a frontman he is far from being bad. Unfortunately  5 of the 6 song have been taken from their last EP ('Wasted Heart') and sure you get 8 new song who are more or less the same level of quality but why even offer an EP, it’s just a basic cashgrab. Sorry for the people who have bought this EP.

Fans of Velvet Revolver and Guns N 'Roses will probably be able to enjoy this but the more modern influences could have been omitted for my sake.


Asphyx - Death...the Brutal Way (Century Media Records, 2009)

Genre: Death/Doom Metal
Year: 2009
Country: Netherlands

1. Scorbutics 04:26
2. The Herald 03:33
3. Bloodswamp 03:56
4. Death the Brutal Way 03:52
5. Asphyx II (They Died as They Marched) 06:40
6. Eisenbahnmörser [The Railway Mortar] 05:42
7. Black Hole Storm 05:35
8. Riflegun Redeemer 05:40
9. Cape Horn 06:53
10. The Saw, the Torture, the Pain 03:10
After a quarrel with the band Van Drunen decided to leave Pestilence and join another group, namely Asphyx. After several successful records and tours with Bolt Thrower and Entombed, they underwent several line-up changes. Because of these struggles the band decided to call it quits in 1995, 1996 and once more in 2000. Every time they started again they came back with a rock-solid record. After the founding of the already renowned supergroup "Hail of Bullets" in 2006, a new reunion of Asphyx became a reality. Van Drunen gets joined by veteran Wannes Gubbels and Bob Bagchus. On guitar we find Paul Baayens, who has already proven himself worthy in "Hail of Bullets" and "Thanatos". With such a line-up comes high expectations, and it should come as a relief that Asphyx fully fulfilled those. In "Death, The Brutal Way" the band wastes no time with intros or resting spots, it simply grabs you by the balls from the beginning and leaves you three quarters later with a dazed look and a smile on your face. They presents us with 10 Old School Death Metal songs that sound as violent and loud as ever. The CD opens with "Scorbutics", a fast headbanger that immediately sets the tone for the rest of the album. On "Asphyx II (They Died As They Marched)" we get to listen to a slow, doomy number that harks back to the older Asphyx sound. The throat grunts of Van Drunen sounds like he has come back from the grave to sing and the rest of the band also give it all they have. The production is clear and modern and is similar to the already mentioned "Hail Of Bullets". In summary we can say that Asphyx is back and that every diehard Death Metal fan should run to his local record store to buy this gem.

Where to buy?:

Friday, August 17, 2012

Deal With It – End Time Prophecy (Rucktion Records, 2008)

Genre: Hardcore/Crossover 
Year: 2008 
Country: UK
1. 02:14 29/08/1997
2. Heed My Words
3. War Against The Machines
4. Atlas Shrugged
5. Temple Mount
6. Black Sun
7. Streets Of Rage II
9. Terrorstorm
10. The Rapture
11. Shah-Mat

Thanks to the success of Municipal Waste there are now dozens of talentless bands throwing one unoriginal record after another in our faces, luckily for us that between all that mediocre violence we can occasionally get more of a high point. The English band "Deal With It" belongs to the second category.

The group can best be compared with the Americans of Cro-Mags but more Thrash oriented.
The first striking feature is of course the beautiful cover art (by the hand of  master Ed Repka, creator of sleeves from Death, Megadeth and Uncle Slam). Although Deal With It isn’t claiming that they invented the wheel, a little more originality wouldn’t harm them.  The songs work thanks to the chunky riffs combined with the Chuck Billy-like voice of the singer.
For a debut album you can and may not expect a whole lot more so this album is worth it for the hardcore and Thrash fans who still don’t want to give up the 80s. (just like me)


Where to buy?