Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Shame Yourself - Wonderfuck (Metal Scrap Records, 2012)

Genre: Thrash Metal
Year: 2012
Country: Poland
1. Work Is Not Over 04:06  
2. For All Your Sins 03:26  
3. Secrets 04:23  
4. Jab C.O. 04:05  
5. Metalheads 06:11  
6. Cannabis Corpse 04:42  
7. Your Creation 02:36  
8. Redrum 04:33  
9. Cathology 04:05  
10. Slave of Masturbation 04:34  
11. Hell 05:18  

So another band from the Ukrainian metal label Metal Scrap Records, this time not a Ukrainian band but a Polish group releasing their debut album.

When you hear Polish thrash you might be thinking about a more classic style like we know from Destroyers, Turbo or Kat. What we get here however is something completely different, we get more groove, mid-tempo thrash metal songs. Indeed not a cliché for a polish band but nothing new anyways. While some listeners might be put of by is the lyrics (very simple, basic lyrics) their is humor to be found in them. A good example of the humor would be the song cannabis corpse. If you aren't laughing with the title right now you won't like the rest of the lyrics on display here. The lesser knowledge of the English language also isn't helping their case, like this lyrical gem from a song about masturbation
'Every time I close my eyes, I see naked chicks
all in foam,
then my little marine, grown in power and want
to fight...'

You can't tell me this wasn't just translated by google translate, the rest of the lyrics aren't that much better either so you can either laugh with it or hate it.

The singer does a combination of death metal grunting and more hardcore shouting.
The production has a very "full" sound to it,all the instruments are mixed well and it just sounds like you expect from a decent release.

From the first song 'work is not over' you get a very good idea how the rest of the album is going to be, no real standout tracks or progressive songs here, just modern thrash that sounds surprisingly good.
The song 'hell' can be shown as an example of the more hardcore influenced perfectly, making use of breakdowns and the vocals being very shouty.

The artwork is very well done, of-course referencing a dollar bill, but the booklet is actually foldable and looks great. Definitely a plus in my book.

All in all it is nothing new, but its fun nonetheless.


Where to buy:

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Sectorial - Erase and Reborn the Humanity (Metal Scrap Records, 2012)

Genre: Thrash Metal/Grindcore
Country: Ukraine
1. He Who Eats the Tale 01:16  
2. Cage With No Limits 01:18  
3. Too Much ? 03:38  
4. The Exhausted 00:52  
5. Passing By ... 01:25  
6. Stones Have a Vote 00:19  
7. In Deep Shit 01:34  
8. Before the Silence Come 03:07  
9. Viva Nature 02:30  
10. The Unknown 01:07  
11. Internal Enemy 02:39  
12. Why Are You Killing Yourself ? 01:43  
13. Thy New Horizon 02:25  
14. The Policy 00:45  
15. Stolen World 04:58  
16. Religion - Business 01:38  
17. Rushing Ahead 00:57  
18. In Endless Motion 01:48  
19. Flaw of Law 02:46  
20. Step By Step 01:52  
21. Outro 02:16  
22. Truth of Life 02:10  
23. Rise Up ! (Phobia Cover) 01:45  
Sectorial is a band hailing from the Ukraine that has released 3 EP's previously. I cannot comment on how those sounded since I never even heard of the band until I got this album in my hands.

So according to the band they play some sort of thrash/grindcore mix, now does this hold true?
The bands starts out as expected as a very grindcore band. Simple riffs but very heavy. But here they are being song with a thrasy voice. Nothing to unexpected, but on closer examination one suddenly finds black metal influences and even pagan instruments. While this sounds like a strange mix (and it definitely is), it can be a great plus for people searching for something new.
The song 'Too Much?' has a pan-flute in it, that is indeed a bit to much for a song that for the rest is just like any other random grindcore song. But balls for trying guys, balls.

The songs are all pretty short, keeping in the grindcore tradition even-though there are a few exceptions like 'Stolen World' and ' Before the Silence Comes" that latter one even including bird chirping and more flute-action (not the kind that you see in a dirty movie though).

The booklet is pretty well done, with all lyrics being both in Ukrainian and English next to each other, it also starts with and text from Plaise Pascal (thoughts), which is a very interesting way to engage your listener to your themes. Here most songs are about that you need to wake up and stop taking everything for granted.

If you like your grindcore to be just that tad bit more, that tad bit more experimental check it out. I for one did not like the more alternative bits like 'Before The Silence Comes' but I still liked the more traditional parts pretty well.


Where To Buy?

Sunday, October 7, 2012

T.A.N.K - Spasms of Upheaval (Symbol Muzik, 2012)

Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Year: 2012 (October)
Country: France
1. Life Epitaph 01:48  
2. The Raven’s Cry 05:29  
3. Unleash the Craving 04:07  
4. Spasms of Upheaval 05:09  
5. Through the Disgrace 04:43  
6. Inhaled 04:31  
7. Slumber 00:52  
8. Conflict 03:45  
9. Stillness Withered 05:12  
10. A Life Astray 04:48  
11. Cryptic Words 04:53  
12. Daze 05:06  
The second album is for a new band is always the most important. While the first one just needs to make us familiar with the style of the band the second one needs to improve on the debut album, make sure to show us that the potential that was their on the debut is fully utilized. So the question now is, does T.A.N.K. deliver?

T.A.N.K. (Think Of A New Kind) is one of the newer bands hailing from France, playing modern sounding metal like Deboga, Gojira, and so on. They play Melodic Death Metal very derivative of Soilwork, so nothing new to be found here at first glance .
The artwork is very nice, and it might be noticed it is only released as a digipack or a digital download. No normal cd for those who prefer that. That being said the digipack is very nicely done, no complaints here.
We start with “Life epitaph” a almost mechanical sounding one riff instrumental that sets the mood for the album, the songs after that we are bombarded with decent sounding Melodic Death that lucky uses clean vocals sparingly (no mallcore here guys and girls). Everyone who listens to this album will have their own favorite tracks, there isn’t one track that is just better then the rest. That being said I would like to add that it does not mean that every song is a instant hit, there is some originality still needed to stand out. A special mention should go to the song “Inhaled” that has Jon Howard (Threat Signal) lending his voice, and what a throat that guy has.

I also like to point out that just with other modern metal bands their are some real jewels hidden in the lyrics "swayed by my inner dilemmas, I need invasive curses to breathe".  What does that even mean?

In summary this French band delivered what they promised and gave us a well-produced, melodic but heavy album that still is pretty varied. I could go on how it’s nothing new and reminds me of Soilwork and the like. But it’s definitely not a buy you would regret later.


Where to buy?: